Hitch Question

12 Posts
1 Users
0 Reactions
Jim
 Jim
(@j_a_wolfe)
Topic starter

I was wondering if anyone is running the Flex-air Pin Box with the Comfort Ride hitch? I have a 2018 3901 WB with the MorRyde IS and Disc Brakes and was thinking about getting the Comfort Ride 184 hitch. I will probably switch to the Moryde Pin box at some time but wondered how it would ride with the Flex-air Comfort Ride combo.

Posted : April 30, 2019 8:23 PM
Jim
 Jim
(@j_a_wolfe)
Topic starter

Don't know, but I've been told: either an air ride King Pin or Hitch, but not both, but I have no real experience.
I have the Comfort Ride 25K Model 245, are you sure you want to go with the 184 with only an 18K limit? We have a '16 39MB and it left the Factory at 16K, so loaded we're over 18K

Posted : April 30, 2019 8:40 PM
Jim
 Jim
(@j_a_wolfe)
Topic starter

I have also heard that you shouldn't have both. My 3901WB has a max weight of 17,900 Lbs. It scaled in at just over 16,800 Lbs. loaded on my way to Florida for this fall. I weigh it often and would never exceed the weight limit of the RV or truck. I suppose I should get the 245 to be safe. Just asking if anyone has experience actually using this combo or if I have to buy the Morryde pin box right away.

Posted : April 30, 2019 9:45 PM
Jim
 Jim
(@j_a_wolfe)
Topic starter

I have the same setup as Michelle. 245 Comfort Ride and MorRyde pinbox. Rick at Comfort Ride was concerned that the flex air would possibly fight the Comfort Ride but I'm not sure anyone has tried it. It might work ok, but I'm sure you'd have to play with the air pressure.

Fwiw, once you've got a Comfort Ride you'll never pull with a regular hitch again.

Posted : May 1, 2019 1:53 AM
Jim
 Jim
(@j_a_wolfe)
Topic starter